The Leaning Pear

July 23, 2008 at 12:44 am Leave a comment

Bella Vista Ranch was not our only culinary adventure last weekend. After we packed up the bottles of wine and olive oil, we were on the hunt for a place to eat lunch. In the heart of Barbecue Country, bordering on Chicken-Fried Steakville, I was a bit worried about what we might find. I’m what Merriam-Webster Collegiate dictionary calls a pescatarian, meaning the only meat I eat is fish. They just added the word this year, in fact, but I’ve been eating this way long before Merriam-Webster recognized it (about three years).

I was pleasantly surprised by The Leaning Pear CafĂ© & Eatery, right off of River Road. There were a few things on the menu for a selective eater like me, but everyone else found something to their liking, as well. Luis had the Slow-Braised Cuban Style Pulled Pork Sandwich, which consisted of sweet relish, provolone, and spicy mustard sandwiched between two slices of grilled ciabatta bread. After eying the Caprese Panini, the Leaning Pear House Salad won out. It combined two of my favorite ingredients, pear and goat cheese, with spiced pecans and a shallot vinaigrette. Delicious, but I wouldn’t have minded a bit more pear in the salad. Then again, I really do love pears. Dessert was locally-made chocolate cake for Luis, my mom, and me, and a gorgeous strawberry shortcake for dad. The four of us washed it all down with the tropical iced tea.

With a focus on seasonal, fresh, and local food, The Leaning Pear blends a bit of Hill Country with a bit of Italy. We give The Leaning Pear four thumbs up (our thumbs plus my parents’ thumbs) and plan to return when we next find ourselves in Wimberley. After all, I still need to try that Caprese Panini.

The verdict

Chocolate cake: The verdict

Entry filed under: Travel + places. Tags: , .

Under the Texan sun “This is good, and it doesn’t even have meat in it!”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


