An apple (bran muffin) a day

August 4, 2008 at 9:30 pm 1 comment

I cant believe theyre vegan...

Last Saturday I dropped Luis off at the airport, and he flew out to Las Vegas for a business conference. Le sigh. Not to sound like one of those shmoopy, smug marrieds, but I can’t sleep when he’s gone. I feel anxious during the day, and I wake up five or six times at night. Even my high-strung cat, who leaps five feet in the air when the AC kicks on, has this “chill out, already” look on her face.

To keep myself busy, I got overzealous in the kitchen. Feeling particularly granola and crunchy, I started by making these vegan Apple Bran Muffins from How it All Vegan. I bought the book when I was writing a magazine feature story about veganism in Austin. As part of the story, I tried out the vegan lifestyle, and this cookbook was a big help when I was wondering what I could eat. I kept the book because the food is delicious and oh-so-healthy.

I enjoyed one of these muffins and chai tea while my Zucchini and Tomato Gratin baked in the oven. It doesn’t get much more granola than that!

Apple Bran Muffins

Makes 6–8 muffins.

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup bran
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sweetener (cane sugar is a good option)
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 3/4 cup soy milk
  • 1 1/2 cups apple sauce (I used organic, unsweetened sauce)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 banana
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together the flour, bran, and baking powder.
  3. In a separate bowl, blend the sweetener, oil, milk, applesauce, vanilla, and banana.
  4. Add liquid ingredients to the flour mixture, and stir until just mixed.
  5. Scoop into lightly oiled muffin tins and bake for 20-30 minutes.
Entry filed under: Baking, Breakfast. Tags: , , .

Kids in a candy store? Los Dos Cooking School

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. aunt becky  |  August 17, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    may i substitute oatmeal for bran?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


