Cooking freestyle and crimes of fashion

August 27, 2008 at 12:57 am Leave a comment

Hello, Kumquats! I’m feeling quite zen at the moment, and while it could be the great yoga session during lunch, I think it has more to do with a satisfying evening in the kitchen. When my head is a mess or when I need to zone out, I like to cook freestyle. It’s not about half a teaspoon of this or a pint of that; it’s just about getting in there and getting dirty. Improvising. Carpe-ing the diem.

Tonight I made Tomato and Zucchini Gratin, guided by MattBites, who not only posts great recipes, but also takes lively, colorful photographs. His directions included no measurements; this was strictly interpretive cooking. Matt encourages cooks to add a little of this and a little of that. “Trust me…it’ll be okay,” he writes.

Boy was it ever. The house is fragranced with baked tomatoes, zucchini, and cheese. (Take that, Glade.)

It’s easy enough to make; the only glitch was a common problem I have with herbs, which has nothing to do with the cooking directions, or with the herbs, for that matter. My daily routine is to come home, workout, shower, get into pjs, and then head into the kitchen. The problem is that as I start to gather ingredients, I realize that I need fresh herbs from the garden. Usually I can convince Luis to go, but today he’s working late. And I’m in my bright yellow pajama pants covered with orange and pink monkeys. What to do?

I rummaged through my closet looking for some protection from the no-seeums that lurk in tall grasses. Now, I realize that I could have put on a respectable pair of jeans and some trainers, but instead I chose the equestrian riding boots.

Yes, I tucked my monkey pants into my knee-high boots, and set out for the herb garden. Thank goodness we live in the country.

Entry filed under: Tasty links. Tags: , .

Tasty links: Friday’s dinner and my new diet Quest for the perfect bran muffin

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


